Skip to Main Content

UCLA Unhoused Task Force

UCLA sign at entrance to campus

The UCLA Unhoused Task Force will explore interventions to address safety and operational issues associated with unhoused non-affiliates on and adjacent to the main campus and at UCLA facilities within Westwood. The Task Force will explore tiered response strategies to mitigate these issues, while also considering interventions to support the needs of unhoused non-affiliates residing on or adjacent to the campus.

The Task Force is expected to provide recommendations to the Administrative Vice Chancellor and other senior leaders on possible solutions to the safety and operational issues being caused by unhoused non-affiliates.

University policies and procedures will be applied consistently and equitably across the campus community and in a manner that recognizes the realities of an open campus environment.


  1. To review and evaluate current operational and safety impacts caused by or in association with unhoused non-affiliates on the main campus and UCLA facilities within Westwood.
  2. To develop a report of findings and recommendations to the Administrative Vice Chancellor and other Senior Leaders regarding mitigation strategies and response tactics that address safety issues while also considering the special needs of the unhoused non-affiliates.


Randall Kuhn
Professor, Community Health Sciences, Fielding School of Public Health (Co-Chair)
Michelle Sityar
Chief of Staff, Administration (Co-Chair)
Gary Blasi
Professor Emeritus, Law
Medell Briggs-Malonson
Chief, Health Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, UCLA Health
Peter Capone-Newton
Associate Clinical Professor
Mick Deluca
Associate Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs
Sonya Gabrielian
Associate Clinical Professor, Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences
Lillian Gelberg
Professor, Family Medicine, DGSOM and FSPH
Naomi Hammonds
President, USAC
Chris Herring
Assistant Professor, Sociology
Isabelle Lanser
Social Justice Policy Analyst for the Depression Grand Challenge
Mary Marfisee
Assistant Clinical Professor, Program Director - Community Service Learning, Family Medicine
Heidi Martinez
President Elect, Staff Assembly; and Fellowship Coordinator, UCLA Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
Norweeta Milburn
Research Professor-in-Residence, Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences, Semel Institute Center for Community Health; and Director of Research and Evaluation at the Nathanson Family Resilience Center
Michelle Moyer
Director of Business, Compliance & Legal Affairs, ASUCLA
Erin Nakamura
Field Work Consultant, UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs, Department of Social Welfare
Noor Nakhaei
President, GSA
Kelly Schmader
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Facilities Management
Chris Silva
Chair, Incidents of Concern Committee (IOCC); and Manager, Behavior Intervention Team
John Thomas
Chief of Police, UCPD

Executive Sponsor

Michael Beck
Administrative Vice Chancellor

Administrative Support

Mona Ereiqat
Project Manager, Administration
Clara Kimoto
Executive Assistant, Administration
Magyn Kydd
Senior Director, Administration Marketing and Communications

Legal Support

Karis Chi
Principal Campus Counsel, Legal Affairs

Questions and comments can be directed to Administrative Vice Chancellor Michael Beck at